The Artwork of Katharine B. Pennebaker

The following group of pictures are taken from the book entitled "Homes and Harbors of the Eastern Shore" by Katharine B. Pennebaker. The book was originally published in 1975 by the Eastern Shore News whose publisher, Bill Sterling, was gracious enough to allow us to display these drawings on our internet server. We are indebted to him for this kind permission.

These pictures portray many of the old homes and other sites located throughout these two counties of Virginia's Eastern Shore. They were drawn by Katharine Pennebaker, a local artist. Some of these old houses date back to the 1600's and 1700's and represent a style of architecture unique to the Eastern Shore. Many were built early and over the years sections were added and still more expansions were made as time and the fortunes of the owners allowed. Most have been lovingly restored to their former grandeur by the present owners and many can be seen in the "Garden Tour " each year.

You may view each picture in a full screen sized scene by clicking on the small one. Return to this menu by use of the "Back" function of your browser.


Arlington - This handsome house is located near the famous Custis Tombs on the Chesapeake Bay side of Northampton County. Surrounded by well kept lawns, the view of Plantation Creek and the surrouding streams make it a home worthy of the elite of the times. A parade of peacocks proudly display their glossy iridescent tails on the lawn.  Arlington
Assateague Lighthouse - It was originally erected in 1867 on the west side of Assateague Island in northern Accomack County for use by coastal marine traffic. In 1961 it was updated with a 1,800,000 candlepower lens and apparatus. Now it serves as a landmark also for the many tourists visiting the island to see the world famous ponies. Assateague Lighthouse
Bay View - This frame home in southwest Accomack County was believed to be built in 1801 near the meeting place of the court of 1656. There could have been an old schoolhouse located nearby as early as 1698. Its many rooflines on the exterior and its unusual interior stairways make it of special interest Bayview
Bowman's Folly - The original house on this site was burned in 1815 and a new structure was built constructed soon thereafter. It has a view of Folly Creek near Accomac from its three story magnificence. The workmanship of talented craftsmen is in evidence throughout the home. Bowman's Folly
Brownsville - This handsome three story home is located east of Nassawadox. The brick part was constructed in 1806 followed by the frame part in 1809. There are 16 rooms in the house. The outer brick walls are twenty one inches thick. Brownsville
Cokesbury - This fine old home is located on Onancock Creek. Construction was begun in the early 1800's During the ensuing years many additions have been made. Some fine details are visible on the outside and the interior contains even more. Cokesbury
Corbin Hall - This home is located in northern Accomack County and is one of Virginia's finest examples of Georgian architecture. It stands on a knoll overlooking Chincoteague Bay It was built in 1725 and contains many fine examples of exquisite interior features. It was so well built that little restoration has been needed. (Editors note - This building was destroyed by fire in the late 1990's) Corbin Hall
Crystal Palace - This three story house was built in Franktown in Northampton County around 1848 - 1850. The main house has a long hall running the entire width of the building. A colonnade connects the two-story kitchen to the main building's dining room. Crystal Palace
Deep Creek Plantation - This home is situated on its namesake waterway's west bank, and was constructed about 1745. A newer section was added in 1812. The grounds contain an old schoolhouse, a old picturesque lawyer's office and an octagonal summer house. Deep Creek Plantation
Drummonds Mill Farm - This charming home is located southwest of Parksley between two ancient mill ponds. The house was started about 1750 and completed in 1820. In early days these two mill ponds furnished water power for the saw and grist mills located here while a nearby country store provided other necessities. Drummond's Mill
Elkington - It is typical Eastern Shore architectural style with "big house, little house, colonnade and kitchen". Built in the 1700's, it stands among a stately grove of old oak, pecan and mahogany and other old trees. Elkington
Eyre Hall - The oldest part of Eyre Hall was constructed about 1730 on land originally patented by the Eyre family. Additions were made in about 1760 and again in 1804. It has a rear garden of magnolia, yew and huge box bushes. Eyre Hall
Happy Union - It was constructed in 1778 along the shore line of Nassawadox Creek. The craftsmanship is excellent and is surrounded by aged trees and a velvety lawn. The brick exterior is a good example of craftsmanship. Happy Union
Hermitage - This building has been called a "mansion-type cottage" and was built around 1777. It has two brick ends and the interior detail is beautifully detailed. The downstairs rooms have high ceilings while the upstairs bedrooms have low pitched ceilings. Hermitage
Hill Farm - This home was built by Richard Drummond starting in 1697. It was on land originally patented by his grandfather, Richard Hill, in 1663. The premises are distinguished by the many fruit trees, pecans, magnolias and other fine flower and vegetable gardens. Hill Farm
Kendall Grove - It is situated on a nineteen acre yard near Mattawaman Creek. It is thought to have been built during or before 1796. It is possible that it was built upon the site of an even older building. The woodwork in here deserves particular attention. Kendall Grove
Kerr Place - This building has been called the "Architectural Gem Of the Eastern Shore" It is located near the heart of Onancock. It formerly had a cupola on the roof but it was removed in the early 1900's. This place was started in the late 1790's and is now the property of The Virginia Historical Society. Kerr Place
Mount Wharton - Many of these old homes overlook a body of water. This one is no exception. Bogue's Bay in northern Accomack County provides a lovely view for this house, built prior to 1772 and added to in 1827. Mount Wharton
Parkhall - This house was probably built in 1740 in its entirety and has not been added to since as many others have been. Wooden pegs were used on the some of the boards throughout. The long four sections contains many unique details including a large fireplace and a unusual gambrel roof on one section. Park Hall
Rose Cottage - This small home is located southeast of Accomac on Finney's Creek The main part was probably built about 1750 with walls 18 - 24 inches thick. The distinguished wainscoting , paneling and parlor mantel are outstanding features of this old edifice. A number of other changes have been made over the years. Rose Cottage
Rural Hill - This fine old home is located in the small town of Accomac. Construction was begun after 1816 by William Custis. The main part of the house was added between 1825 and 1850. The wing on the back of the house is much more recent. Rural Hill
Seymour or Ross House - This is a good example of an architectural style known as "big house, little house, colonnade and kitchen". The oldest part, the kitchen, was built in 1791 and the large end was completed in 1815. The grounds contain a well preserved ice house and a graveyard. Seymour House
Tasley Railroad Station - This is a departure from the theme of old homes in that this is an item of commerce. The railroad through the Eastern Shore came in 1884. This station was built shortly thereafter. Just as the railroad replaced the freight and passenger service provided by the Chesapeake Bay steamers, it too was succeeded by automobile, buses and trucks. Tasley Railroad Station
Tan Yard House - This home is located in the heart of Modest Town and is thought to have been built in the late 1700's. Its use in the leather tanning business gave it the present name. Even now some of its former implements and tools are available there. Tanyard House
The Folly - This fine old home is also located on Folly Creek near Accomac. It was built during the 1700's and contains some unusually fine wainscoting and beautiful hand carved cornices and mantels. The grounds contain an old ice house, an ancient covered well , a windmill and another building known as a "quarter kitchen". Bowman's Folly
The Haven - This is the longest home in the town of Accomac at one hundred fifty feet. The oldest part was built in 1794 and has had many additions with the passage of time. It is noted for its many roof levels and dormer windows. The Haven
Vaux Hall - It is a serene two story brick house located on a branch of Pungoteague Creek. The exterior features some jack arches and a hip roof. The interior has some unusual woodwork in its urn and column stairway balusters and walls of raised panels. The center part of the house is of brick construction and the two wings are frame. Vaux Hall
Warwick - This home is located on the shores of Upsher's Bay in Accomack County and dates back to 1670. It is named after Mary Upsher's ancestral home of Warwickshire, England. It was partially burned during the Revolutionary War but has been tastefully restored. Warwick
Wharton Place - The main section of this house was built around 1800 but some of its attached parts date back another century or more. The name is derived from one of its former owners, John Wharton, who employed some of the finest craftsmen of the time. It has won several awards for outstanding characteristics of architecture and restoration.  Wharton Place
Winona - Some estimates place the age of this house from 1681, some call it much earlier maybe to about 1645 to 1649. The three chimneys are unique - Jacobean in style. Only two other houses in Virginia are known to have this treatment. Winona